Publisher Theme
I’m a gamer, always have been.

The ASC Announces Cinematography Nominees

And they are, as follows:

  • Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC for Unbroken
  • Óscar Faura for The Imitation Game
  • Emmanuel Lubezki ASC, AMC for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)
  • Dick Pope, BSC for Mr. Turner
  • Robert D. Yeoman, ASC for The Grand Budapest Hotel

I believe that with this list we have only three films that have hit all of the guilds so far: The Imitation Game, The Grand Budapest Hotel and Birdman.  That does not mean instant slam dunk for Best Picture but it’s worth noting, for the record.  The big surprise for me on this list is The Imitation Game, which shows how popular it is – considering the cinematography isn’t the thing that stands out about it.

This is Deakins’ 13th ASC nomination. He previously won for Skyfall (2013), The Shawshank Redemption (1995) and The Man Who Wasn’t There (2002). His other nominations include Fargo (1997), Kundun (1998), O Brother, Where Art Thou? (2001), No Country for Old Men(2008), The Assassination of Jesse James by the Coward Robert Ford (2008), Revolutionary Road (2009), The Reader (2009), True Grit (2011) and Prisoners (2014). He was also the recipient of the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Lubezki won the ASC Award last year for Gravity. He also took home top honors for The Tree of Life (2012) and Children of Men (2007), and was nominated in 2000 for Sleepy Hollow.

Pope previously earned a nomination for The Illusionist (2007).

These are the first ASC nominations for Faura and Yeoman.

For more information regarding the ASC Awards, visit the ASC website at, or call 323-969-4333.