Publisher Theme
I’m a gamer, always have been.

San Francisco Film Critics Circle Nominations!

Thanks to longtime pal Will Mavity (@mavericksmovies) for the heads up! Arrival, La La Land, and Moonlight lead this year’s SFFCC field with eight nominations each.

Best Picture:
Hell or High Water
La La Land
Manchester by the Sea

Best Director:
Damien Chazelle — La La Land
Barry Jenkins — Moonlight
Kenneth Lonergan — Manchester by the Sea
Jeff Nichols — Loving
Denis Villeneuve — Arrival

Best Actor:
Casey Affleck — Manchester by the Sea
Joel Edgerton — Loving
Ryan Gosling — La La Land
Tom Hanks — Sully
Denzel Washington — Fences

Best Actress:
Amy Adams — Arrival
Annette Bening — 20th Century Women
Isabelle Huppert — Elle
Ruth Negga — Loving
Natalie Portman — Jackie

Best Supporting Actor:
Mahershala Ali — Moonlight
Jeff Bridges — Hell or High Water
Ralph Fiennes — A Bigger Splash
Ben Foster — Hell or High Water
Michael Shannon — Nocturnal Animals

Best Supporting Actress:
Viola Davis — Fences
Greta Gerwig — 20th Century Women
Lily Gladstone — Certain Women
Naomi Harris — Moonlight
Michelle Williams — Manchester by the Sea

Best Original Screenplay:
Hell or High Water — Taylor Sheridan
La La Land — Damien Chazelle
The Lobster — Yorgos Lanthimos & Efthymis Filippou
Manchester By The Sea — Kenneth Lonergan
Moonlight — Barry Jenkins

Best Adapted Screenplay:
Arrival — Eric Heisserer
Elle — David Birke
The Handmaiden — Park Chan-wook & Jeong Seo-Gyeong
Fences — August Wilson
Nocturnal Animals — Tom Ford

Best Foreign Language Picture:
The Handmaiden
The Salesman
Toni Erdmann

Best Documentary:
Fire at Sea
I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made in America

Best Animated Feature:
Finding Dory
Kubo and the Two Strings
The Red Turtle

Best Cinematography:
Arrival — Bradford Young
Jackie — Stéphanie Fontaine
La La Land — Linus Sandgren
Moonlight — James Laxton
Silence — Rodrigo Pietro

Best Production Design:
Arrival — Patrice Vermette
The Handmaiden — Ryu Seong-ryong
Jackie — Jean Rabasse
La La Land — David Wasco
The Witch — Craig Lathrop

Best Original Score:
Arrival — Jóhann Jóhannsson
Hell or High Water — Nick Cave & Warren Ellis
Jackie — Mica Levi
La La Land — Justin Hurwitz
Moonlight — Nicholas Britell

Best Film Editing:
Arrival — Joe Walker
Hell or High Water — Jake Roberts
La La Land — Tom Cross
Manchester by the Sea — Jennifer Lame
Moonlight — Nat Sanders & Joi McMillom