Home / AMPAS / Hawk Koch Elected Academy President

Hawk Koch Elected Academy President

(Press Release) Beverly Hills, CA – Producer Hawk Koch was elected president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences tonight (July 31) by the organization’s Board of Governors. This will be his first term in the office.

Koch, who is beginning his ninth year as a governor representing the Producers Branch, has served as first vice president of the Academy during the past year. He previously served three one-year terms as treasurer and one term as vice president.

In addition, Public Relations Branch governor Cheryl Boone Isaacs was elected first vice president; Producers Branch governor Kathleen Kennedy was elected to one vice president post and Writers Branch governor Phil Robinson was re-elected to the other vice president post; Public Relations Branch governor Rob Friedman was elected treasurer; and Executives Branch governor Robert Rehme was elected secretary.

Koch’s producer credits include “Losing Isaiah” and “Gorky Park.” He recently served as executive producer on “Source Code” and is executive producer on the upcoming “Very Good Girls.”

Academy board members serve three-year terms, while officers serve one-year terms, with a maximum of four consecutive terms in any one office.

About Ryan Adams

Check Also

Florida Approves Voting Reform Bill

Will there be 9 or 8 or 7 or…? Fumbling Towards Best Picture in an Unpredictable Year

In case you haven’t been studying at the Oscar race for Best Picture for the ...


  1. I notice that Koch has credits going quite a ways back — including as AD on Chinatown and an appearance in the Polanski doc Wanted: Dead or Alive.

  2. He’s the son of Howard W. Koch, who produced (among others) the 50th Annual Academy Awards show. So, at least there’s an Oscar pedigree there in the family who will try to uphold the traditional show (hopefully).

    One bit of advice for you Hawk: REVAMP THE MUSIC BRANCH! Best Song last year was an embarassing joke. I am still reeling over Mary J. Blige’s omission for Best Song in “The Help”: Living Proof.

  3. This is a vote for conformity, I’m afraid. MOS. More of the same. Nothing changes. The rules stay in place. What we’ve seen happen before we will certainly see happen again.

    In which case Spielberg or “Les Miz” win.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>