Share

Academy Announces Key Dates for Oscars

Looks to be a shorter window between nomination ballots and that ballot deadline. It takes place once again over the holiday break, end of December (after Christmas) past New Year’s.

Oscars move back to February 22.

Key dates for the Awards season are:

Saturday, November 8, 2014 The Governors Awards
Wednesday, December 3, 2014 Official Screen Credits and music submissions due
Monday, December 29, 2014 Nominations voting begins 8 a.m. PT
Thursday, January 8, 2015 Nominations voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Thursday, January 15, 2015 Oscar nominations announced
Monday, February 2, 2015 Oscar Nominees Luncheon
Friday, February 6, 2015 Final voting begins 8 a.m. PT
Saturday, February 7, 2015 Scientific and Technical Awards
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 Final voting ends 5 p.m. PT
Oscar Sunday, February 22, 2015 87th Academy Awards begins 7 p.m. ET/ 4 p.m. PT

3 Comments on this Post

  1. Al Robinson

    I think this year’s schedule might hinder Inherent Vice’s and Exodus’ chances, but could be just fine then and perhaps even enhance the chances for both Gone Girl and Interstellar in the Best Picture race.

  2. Al Robinson

    And then there’s Unbroken, which is currently scheduled to come out on Christmas Day, just 4 days before Oscar voting starts. Hmm….

  3. Bob Burns

    This year’s race felt endless. even with the extra couple of weeks, the old holiday platform release strategy couldn’t work. Personally, I would like to see the season cut down another couple of weeks. (The downside is that it would be bad for the blogs/trades.) For those of us in megaplex-land, one result of the shorter season has resulted in a much better fall.

Leave a Comment

Warning: Do not abuse your right to comment here. You will be deleted.