Emmanuel Lubezki wins ASC Award for Gravity

ASC AWARDS Feature Film Emmanuel Lubezki, Gravity One-Hour Series Jonathan Freeman, Game of Thrones – “Valar Dohaeris” Half-Hour Series Television Blake McClure for Drunk History, “Detroit” Television Motion Picture or Miniseries Jeremy Benning,...
Posted On 01 Feb 2014

ASC Preview and Prediction

The American Society of Cinematographers is having their annual awards dinner Saturday night. Weirdly, they have seven nominees to Oscar’s five. Captain Phillips and 12 Years a Slave are the two ASC nominees the Oscars left out.  The way these awards usually work is the...
Posted On 31 Jan 2014

ASC Cinematography Nominees

• Sean Bobbitt, BSC for 12 Years a Slave • Barry Ackroyd, BSC for Captain Phillips • Philippe Le Sourd for The Grandmaster • Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC for Gravity • Bruno Delbonnel, ASC, AFC for Inside Llewyn Davis • Phedon Papamichael, ASC for Nebraska • Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC...
Posted On 08 Jan 2014

ASC Awards Announcing Tomorrow

Tonight the American Society of Cinematographers announce.  We’re waiting on those. Here are the nominees: Anna Karenina, Seamus McGarvey, ASC, BSC Les Miserables, Danny Cohen, BSC Life of Pi, Claudio Miranda, ASC Lincoln, Janusz Kaminski Skyfall, Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC...
Posted On 09 Feb 2013

ASC Preview and Predictions

Tomorrow the ASC nominations will be announced for feature film.  An odd thing has happened recently in the history of the ASC.  After 2006, the ASC had more of a match with Oscar’s Best Picture than previously.  But some of that is the extended Best Picture lineup. Last...
Posted On 08 Jan 2013

ASC Nominations!

Guillaume Schiffman, AFC (The Artist) Jeff Cronenweth, ASC (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo) Robert Richardson, ASC (Hugo) Hoyte van Hoytema, FSF, NSC (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy) Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC (The Tree of Life) I do believe Ryan got 5/5 on these predictions. Hats...
Posted On 11 Jan 2012

Wally Pfister wins ASC Award for Inception!

Wally Pfister: ASC Award for Feature Film, for Inception! Stephen Windon: Asc Award for TV Movie /Mini-Series for the Pacific, Okinawa Jonathan Freeman: ASC award for TV Series – Boardwalk Empire, ‘Home’ episode Michael O’Shea: ASC Career Achievement in TV Award John...
Posted On 13 Feb 2011

AMC Television Awards Nominees

The American Society of Cinematographers (ASC) has announced nominees in the two television categories. The awards ceremony will be held on February 13. Nominees in the Television Episodic Series/Pilot Category: Eagle Egilsson for “Shell Game”/ DARK BLUE (TNT)...
Posted On 16 Dec 2010

ASC Award Goes to The White Ribbon!

In a bit a bit of a shocker, but very well deserved, the ASC awards The White Ribbon with its top prize! Incredible.
Posted On 27 Feb 2010