Alliance of Women Film Journalists Pick 12 Years a Slave for Best Film of 2012

AWFJ EDA ‘BEST OF’ AWARDS  Best Film “12 Years a Slave” Best Director (Female or Male)  “12 Years a Slave” – Steve McQueen Best Screenplay, Original “Her” – Spike Jonze Best Screenplay, Adapted “12 Years a Slave” John Ridley – Best Documentary “Stories We Tell” – Sarah Polley...
Posted On 19 Dec 2013

Alliance of Women Film Journalist’s Nominations!

Though a member of this group I did not vote on these awards. I do not disagree with them, however. But I would request a little more of the Big Bad Wolf of Wall Street. AWFJ BEST OF AWARDS BEST FILM 12 Years a Slave American Hustle Gravity Her Inside Llewyn Davis Nebraska
Posted On 11 Dec 2013

Alliance of Women Film Journalists Winners

This is the only group I vote in and as you can see, clearly my votes did not matter as many of these winners, for the most part, don’t reflect my personal choices, not even the the less traditional awards after the jump.    They didn’t last year either so I am what...
Posted On 07 Jan 2013

Nominees for the 2012 Women in Film Journalism Awards

I only vote in one critics group, and that’s this one. The reason being, I wouldn’t want to cover the awards race and also vote on movies – to me it’s a little bit of a conflict of interest.  Here are the nominees: OFFICIAL BALLOT FOR THE 2012 AWFJ EDA...
Posted On 22 Dec 2012

Alliance for Women Film Journalist Fail to Nominate a Single Woman Director

It’s kind of astonishing, really.  I suppose to have nominated a single one affirmative action would have had to be in play.  With the exception of no Rooney Mara in Lead Actress (epic fail) these aren’t bad nominations. Gotta hand it to the women for having a pretty...
Posted On 23 Dec 2011

David Fincher’s Social Network Wins over Women Journos

The Alliance of Women Film Journalism (of which this blogger is a member) gives The Social Network the big win, taking Picture, Director, Adapted Screenplay and Score. Colin Firth wins for his heartbreaking portrayal of the stammering King, and Annette Bening wins for The Kids...
Posted On 10 Jan 2011

Alliance of Women Film Journalists Awards

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of the 2009 EDA Awards: EDA ANNUAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS Best Film: The Hurt Locker Best Animated Film: Up Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker Best Screenplay, Original: (500) Days of Summer...