2015 Art Directors Guild TV Awards: Game of Thrones, True Detective

via: Press Release

BEVERLY HILLS, Jan. 31, 2015 — The Art Directors Guild (ADG, IATSE Local 800) tonight announced winners of its 19th Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards, in eleven categories of film, television, commercials and music videos during a black-tie ceremony at the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills. The awards took place before an audience of more than 850, including guild members, industry executives and press. ADG President Mimi Gramatky and Council Chair Marcia Hinds presided over the awards ceremony with comedian Owen Benjamin serving as host.

Christopher Nolan received the Guild’s prestigious Cinematic Imagery Award presented by Anne Hathaway, star of Interstellar, currently nominated for five Academy Awards® including Best Production Design. George Clooney presented Production Designer Jim Bissell with the Lifetime Achievement Award. Senior Illustrator Camille Abbott, Senior Set Designer John P. Bruce and Scenic Artist Will Ferrell also were recipients of this year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards, the first year that the Guild has presented this award to all four crafts that comprise Local 800. Hall of Fame inductees were awarded to legendary Production Designers John Gabriel Beckman, Charles Lisanby and Walter H. Tyler. Production Designer Co-Chairs Dave Blass and James Pearse Connelly produced the 19th Annual ADG Excellence in Production Design Awards.

Presenters for this year’s awards included George Clooney (The Monuments Men), Anne Hathaway (Interstellar), Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything), Felicity Jones (The Theory of Everything), Julie Bowen (Modern Family), Tony Hale (Veep), Mayim Bialik (The Big Bang Theory), Margo Martindale (The Americans, Justified), Kiernan Shipka (Mad Men), Loni Love (The Real), Brian Tyler (Iron Man 3), Lisa Edelstein (Girlfriends’ Guide to Divorce), Matt Ryan (Constantine) and Tyler Oakley (YouTube star). iJustine was the trophy handler.

ADG awards recognition always goes to the Production Designer, Art Director, Assistant Art Director and their team for each nominated and winning project.

Winners for Excellence in Production Design in Television for 2014:

  • One-Hour Period or Fantasy Single-Camera Series:
    Game of Thrones – “The Laws of Gods and Men,” “The Mountain and the Viper”
    Production Designer: Deborah Riley
  • One-Hour Contemporary Single-Camera Series:
    True Detective – “The Locked Room,” “Form and Void”
    Production Designer: Alex DiGerlando
  • Television Movie or Mini-Series:
    American Horror Story: Freak Show – “Massacres and Matinees”
    Production Designer: Mark Worthington
  • Half Hour Single-Camera Series:
    Silicon Valley – “Articles of Incorporation,” “Signaling Risk,” “Optimal Tip-To-Tip Efficiency”
    Production Designer: Richard Toyon
  • Multi-Camera Television Series:
    The Big Bang Theory – “The Locomotive Manipulation,” “The Convention Conundrum,” “The Status Quo Combustion”
    Production Designer: John Shaffner
  • Awards or Event Special:
    86th Annual Academy Awards
    Production Designer: Derek McLane
  • Short Format – WebSeries, Music Video or Commercial:
    Apple, “Perspective”

    Production Designer: Sean Hargreaves
  • Variety, Competition, Reality, or Game Show Series:
    Portlandia: “Celery”
    Production Designer: Tyler B. Robinson

Winners for Excellence in Production Design for a Feature Film in 2014:

  • Period Film: The Grand Budapest Hotel
    Production Designer: Adam Stockhausen
  • Fantasy Film: Guardians of the Galaxy
    Production Designer: Charles Wood
  • Contemporary Film: Birdman
    Production Designer: Kevin Thompson

ADG Awards are open only to productions, when made within the U.S., by producers signatory to the IATSE agreement. Foreign entries are acceptable without restrictions.

About the Art Directors Guild:

The Art Directors Guild (IATSE Local 800) represents 2,300 members who work throughout the United States, Canada and the rest of the world in film, television and theater as Production Designers, Art Directors, Assistant Art Directors; Scenic, Title and Graphic Artists; Illustrators and Matte Artists; Set Designers and Model Makers; and Previs Artists. Established in 1937, the ADG’s ongoing activities include a Film Society, an annual Awards Banquet, a creative/technology community (5D: The Future of Immersive Design), a bimonthly craft magazine (Perspective); and extensive technology-training programs, figure drawing and other creative workshops and year-round Gallery 800 art exhibitions. The Guild’s Online Directory/Website Resource is at www.adg.org.

For more info about the awards, please go to www.adg.org.

Hashtag: #ADGawards
Website: www.adg.org
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ADG800
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ADG800
Instagram: http://instagram.com/adg800/
Vine: https://vine.co/ADG800
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCC1PXtkGUg0kztkizF3lnHQ

You may also like

Sign In

Reset Your Password

Email Newsletter