Publisher Theme
I’m a gamer, always have been.

Costume Designers Guild To Honor Guillermo Del Toro and Joanna Johnston

The Costume Designers Guild announced that Golden Globe award-winning actress Gina Rodriguez will host the 20th CDGA (Costume Designers Guild Awards) taking place February 20, 2018 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The Guild also announced that critically acclaimed Costume Designer Joanna Johnston will be honored with the Career Achievement Award, presented by, renowned film director and producer Guillermo del Toro will receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award, and preeminent jeweler and metalworker Maggie Schpak will receive the Distinguished Service Award at the gala.

Rodriguez said, “I am thrilled the Costume Designers Guild asked me to host the platinum anniversary of the CDGA ceremony. Working with my Jane the Virgin Costume Designer, the marvelous Rachel Sage Kunin, has been one of the most fulfilling collaborative relationships of my career. I cannot wait to celebrate with Rachel, and her peers, on this milestone evening.”

“The members of the CDG are deeply grateful to have Gina Rodriguez hosting the 20th anniversary of our awards. In addition to being an exceptional actor, we are confident that Gina’s wonderful spirit, combined with her genuinely collaborative partnership with her Costume Designer, Rachel Sage Kunin, will set the perfect tone for such a celebratory evening. Joanna Johnston, Guillermo del Toro, and Maggie Schpak have each made their unique mark in our industry and on the world of storytelling. As we commemorate 20 years of applauding the best in Costume Design, we couldn’t be more excited about honoring their work and thanking them for their contributions.” Salvador Perez, President of the Costume Designers Guild added.

The Career Achievement Award, presented to Joanna Johnston this year by THE OUTNET.COM, recognizes leaders who have made a lasting impact on Costume Design. Past recipients include designers Jeffrey Kurland, Ellen Mirojnick, Julie Weiss, April Ferry, Eduardo Castro, Judianna Makovsky, Colleen Atwood, Sandy Powell, Ann Roth, and more.

The Distinguished Collaborator Award honors individuals who demonstrate unwavering support of Costume Design and creative partnerships with Costume Designers. Past recipients include Meryl Streep, Quentin Tarantino, Richard Linklater, Helen Mirren, Judd Apatow, Clint Eastwood, Rob Marshall, Jim Burrows, and Lorne Michaels, among others.

The Distinguished Service Award honors individuals whose specialties and talents contribute to the craft and art of Costume Design. Past recipients include Sharon Day, Lois DeArmond, Edwina Pellikka, and Mary Rose.

Produced by JumpLine, the annual CDGA gala celebrates excellence in film, television, and short form Costume Design as voted on by the Guild’s membership, which includes more than 1000 Costume Designers and Illustrators working in motion pictures, television, commercials, music videos, and new media programs throughout the world. This year’s event will be sponsored by THE OUTNET.COM, Harper’s BAZAAR, Westfield, Prime, and Grand Marnier.